Connect with us


Which book is Three Pines based on?



Three Pines is based on the books in the winning Chief Inspector Armand Gamache series, but the show also takes inspiration from other sources.

It makes sense for studios, fans, and authors to try and turn successful book series into television shows.

Three Pines, one of Prime Video’s most recent series, is also an adaptation of the award-winning Chief Inspector Armand Gamache book series by Louise Penny, even though it is considered a very loose adaptation.

Why are so many books being turned into shows?

There has been a long history of popular books being turned into even more popular television shows.

In fact, in the last few years, many of the most popular shows, like BridgertonGame of ThronesThe Sinner, The Queen’s Gambit, Big Little Lies, and more, have been adaptations of novels and series of novels.

The reality is that turning a popular book into a television show is often a win-win for everyone involved.

This is because not only do the authors get the increased exposure and sales from the show, but the studio also gets to produce content quickly and easily.

Moreover, fans get to experience their favourite novels in a new, well thought-out way and form.

Which book is Three Pines based on?

Streaming services have been at the forefront of adapting these popular novels into shows, as this allows them to create good quality content that already has an established fanbase, without having to write the shows themselves, which makes for much faster turnaround times.

One of the most recent examples of this is the Three Pines mystery series, of which, the first two episodes were released on the Amazon Prime Video streaming platform on 2 December 2022.

This show is actually an adaptation of the Chief Inspector Armand Gamache book series by author, Louise Penny.

The books and the show follow Gamache as he investigates various murder mysteries in the fictional town of Three Pines.

The award-winning book series that Three Pines is based on, actually consists 18 books, starting with Still Life, which was released in 2005, and ending with “A World of Curiosities”, which was only released in 2022.

However, even though this adaptation has been long-awaited for many fans of the books, the show is quite a loose adaptation of three of Penny’s novels and one novella.

The first four standalone murder mysteries each contain two episodes, like the simultaneously released first two episodes that are based on the second book of the series, titled A Fatal Grace, which will be released with every following week.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *